Who’s That Lady….

OMG!  I have SOOOO many inquiries about this topic.  SOOO many people asking me this one question, SOO many people getting the WRONG information (my opinion), and SO many people following this mis-information.  ANSWER: WOMEN, YOU NEED TO WORKOUT/LIFT WITH WEIGHTS, and possibly HEAVY WEIGHTS TO LOSE WEIGHT…

“But I don’t want to look like a bodybuilder.” OR “I don’t want to be so thick.”  Most of the time ladies, “thick” means you just have to lose the layer of “ice” over the muscle, AND you will never look like a bodybuilder because you do not have the testosterone levels for that to happen.  Very small explanation, but to the point, and that all is for another blog post.

Most of my clients have been “told” to do cardio for weight loss.  I don’t disagree with that instruction.  Will cardio help you with weight loss?  If that is your goal, yes it will.  Will cardio help you burn calories?  Yes, it will.   Will cardio have some of the same benefits as strength training? Yes, it will.  But is cardio the best thing by itself? NO NO NO, and NO!!!

A cardio component has its place in every strength-training program.  Both cardio and strength training will have benefits that overlap one another.   Will you lower your blood pressure, reduce your blood cholesterol, lower the risk of heart disease, and reduce the risk of diabetes from one, the other, or both?  The answer is YES, YES, YES, YES… What also helps is a very good nutrition plan as well. (For another blog post J)

For me, a combo of both is the best!  I do not run.  I played soccer since I was 5 years old and I think I have done enough running in my day.  I lift weights, use kettlebell swings, Battling Ropes, jumping jacks, and jump rope to name a few for “cardio” in my training program.

Want a rise in your metabolism?  Yes please!  The goal is to get your heart rate up and NOT by a steady-state jog or boring minutes on a cardio machine, but by short bursts of work, i.e. Tabata, HIIT, sprint intervals, metabolic sets, super sets, etc.  I want your body to get the “after-burn” or EPOC (excess post-exercise oxygen consumption).  When you’re done with your workout, your body begins returning to its normal resting metabolic rate.  A rise in your metabolism will burn fat to recover since you’ve exhausted stored carbs during your workout.  Understand that it takes a lot of energy and a lot of calories for your resting metabolism to return to “normal.”  Meaning?  Drum roll please… MORE FAT BURNED!!!  And the best thing about “after-burn” or EPOC is that your body will stay in fat-burning mode for up to 48 hours.  Who doesn’t want that???!!!  Next time you go to your gym, look at the body “styles” or “types” in the weight area compared to the cardio area.  Tell me if there is a difference?

I see it like this… people want to lose weight, feel great, have some energy, etc.  Whatever their goal, that is THEIR goal.  Build and work toward that goal, then set a new one, and so on.  If it is to lose weight, one to two pounds a week is realistic.  Three to five pounds are great!  YOU will get frustrated, and pissed, and cry, and complain, and want to throw your scale.  I say throw your scale in the garbage!!!!  It takes time and your body WILL respond.  NEVER STOP going for your goal!!!

Example Result:  Strength training with Tabata => burn calories => build lean muscle => increase metabolism => EPOC => burn more fat => weight lose = HAPPY PEEPS!!!

Until next time #ImALLin

Leave a Reply

