All the talk about grains…

A few years ago, I tried to eat the paleo diet.  “Tried” being the key word….  I went to a seminar and learned some very good information.  Although, I did not do my research to find more helpful things as I normally would.  I started and did not do very well.  I was NOT prepared at all.  I did not have a clue what to eat, the portion size, what to shop for, or to even look for.  I was always hungry, felt light headed, and didn’t feel “right”.  Withdrawal from the grains in the carbs, possibly?

In retrospect, I used to eat oatmeal, rice (brown and white), potatoes, some bread, and pasta (regular and whole wheat).  I went back to eating all that after I had a difficult time trying to eat paleo.  Over time, I did my research and decided to give paleo eating another try.  Again, I went cold turkey.  My body did not react as bad as it once did.  I decided on creating a menu for most of the things I was going to eat.  I tried some new veggies, cooked with ghee and coconut oil, ate nuts and seeds, and started eating beef again.  I was ALWAYS afraid to add more fat, and eat more beef because of what I was told by the powers that be.  GO LOW FAT or FAT FREE and eat more whole grains.  Its so much healthier for you!  They are healthy for you!  WOW! What a difference I have seen and felt eliminating grains!

Now, do I expect people to stop eating grains all together… NOPE!  Cold turkey…AHHHH, NOPE!  Go ahead, eat grains, pasta, oatmeal, etc.  BUT, do it IN MODERATION if you must.  NOW… Do I expect people to change some things they are eating… YOU BET I DO!  Anything with paleo, I seemed to read.  It is great that there is more research out there, books being recognized, and websites to view.  One book I used to help me was Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo.  Tons of GREAT information and I used both of these from her book as references quite often: http://www.balancedbites.com/PDFs/BOOK_EXTRAS/PracticalPaleo_GuidetoGluten.pdf 

http://www.balancedbites.com/PDFs/BOOK_EXTRAS/PracticalPaleo_GuidetoPaleoFoods.pdf

Every since I have eliminated grains, February to April, I have gone from 180# 17% BF to 175# 15# BF.  YES, I lost weight.  I feel so much better.  I trained hard, but I still indulged.  YES, I just wrote that… I indulged!!  I hear about so many diets, or ways to diet/eat, it makes me sick.  One I have heard of recently is Biblically inspired.  I chuckled when I heard that.  How that can be is new to me?  I graduated from Loyola University of Chicago.  I had priests, and nuns as my professors.  Not on of them ever mentioned diet or eating habits related to the Bible.  Add something that is as important to some people as religion or the Bible, and you have a money maker!  Doing some research to write this, I found:  http://wellnessmama.com/2359/does-the-bible-say-we-should-eat-grains/  Might open up a can of worms, and create a buzz, but oh well… So be it…

Will I continue not eating grains, YES…  Will I ever eat them again, YES, IN MODERATION.  And, I will drink alcohol, have a dessert, eat more fat, eat more calories on certain days compared to others, have a piece of chocolate, etc, etc, etc… YES, OF COURSE I WILL.  I am human!!  I will eat all IN MODERATION…

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

